Materials Research – Committee


The purpose of the User Group Advisory Committee is: to assess the MRG against their own strategic goals and operational plan; to formulate a set of recommendations with motivations; and to address their report to the MRG and iThemba Labs management, as guidance for management and planning.

The members of this committee are:

Prof Dhiro Gihwala (Chair, Health sciences)
Prof Craig Comrie (Deputy, materials physics)
Dr Daniel Adams (DST-materials research)
Prof Alf Botha (Botany and biology)
Prof Paul Papka (nuclear physics – Ion beam analysis)
Prof Martin Ntwaeaborwa (Nano-sciences)
Dr Chis Franklyn (Ion beam analysis)
Prof Chris Theron (Materials Research)
Prof Carlos Pineda-Vargas (Head: MRD)
Dr Rudzani Nemutudi (Deputy Director: lithography)
Dr Chris Mtshali (Secretary)



22 – 24 November 2006

26 November 2004

25 March 2003

From the Director’s Office

A New Year brings new opportunities to share a vision, build collaborations and shape the future.

Read more

Corporate Profile

Corporate profile of iThemba LABS in February issue of Leadership Magazine p. 68-69

Read more p. 68-69

SA-CERN Collaboration

Big data science in South Africa reaching new funding highs through the South African CERN collaboration

Read more ...

ATLAS upgrade workshop

News Archive