Communications Team

Meet the Communications Team:

The Director has put together a Communications Team to drive communications for iThemba LABS, both internally and externally – to improve visibility of iThemba LABS and to improve communication to staff.

The members of this team are:

Dr Faiҫal Azaiez

Mr Vincent Spannenberg

Dr Rudzani Nemutudi

Ms Naomi Haasbroek

Ms Michelle van der Ventel-Bark

Mr William Duckitt

Mr Ambrose Yaga


The Team has the following brief:

  • Promotion of the NRF brand
  • To develop a communication strategy
  • To increase visibility of iThemba LABS
  • Positioning iThemba LABS as the hub for the subatomic physics community in South Africa
  • To improve internal communication


Various tools, both print and online, will be utilized to strengthen the key messages.   The website and brochures will be redesigned and updated.


Each department will have a communications champion who would be responsible for collecting newsworthy information and highlights for sharing on the various platforms such as the website and newsletter.


Any ideas on how we can improve communication at iThemba LABS would be welcome!